Fortezza da Basso

A masterpiece of the Renaissance architecture, the Fortezza da Basso – or of St. John the Baptist, as a tribute to the Patron Saint of Florence

was planned by Antonio da Sangallo il Giovane, commissioned by Alessandro de’ Medici, the first Duke of Florence, and built between 1534 and 1536. The Fortezza has been the main Congress & Exhibition Center venue for Florence and for central Italy since 1967, being strategically located in the historic city centre.

The Fortezza da Basso has an overall surface of over 80,000 sq m – of which 55,000 are roofed – and is an ideal place for fairs, such as the well renowned International Handicrafts Trade Fair, and congresses with a high number of participants as well as being a privileged place to host official receptions and gala events. A unique location in the world, combining perfectly restored historic locations, such as the Monumental Area, the Teatrino Lorenese and the Polveriera, with modern pavilions such as the Spadolini Pavilion (25,620 sq m on three levels) and the Cavaniglia Pavilion, opened in 1996, offering a wonderful visual impact of the 16th-century walls on one side of the building.

The conservative restoration of the whole area was carried out according to the space destination and to the requirements of the event organisers, exhibitors and visitors. Access to pavilions and to interior spaces is made possible through three driveway and pedestrian gates (Porta S. Maria Novella, Porta Faenza and Porta Mugnone) and two pedestrian entrances (Porta alle Carra and Porta Soccorso alla Campagna).

Access for persons with reduced mobility is guaranteed in all the public areas of the venues.

Click here, if you wish to learn more about how the Fortezza da Basso was built.